BB Tip: Staying Sane on the Trail with Your Significant Other

30 09 2010

I’m the type of mountain biker that is completely satisfied in heading out once or twice a week for an hour-and-a-half’s ride. I do really enjoy being on my bike, being in the woods, and exercising outside, but I’m not in it to do epic rides for the most part.

I have a tiny problem. My husband only likes epic rides. Needless to say, I do not ride with him very often. When I do, here’s how I keep from going crazy:

  1. Tell myself that we’ll be riding for at least 4 hours. If I’m comfortable with that, I’m still golden at 2 1/2, when I tell him I’m winding down. It’s sneaky, but we’re all happier in the end.
  2. I don’t lie to myself anymore about being able to hold out or that I won’t bonk. Before I start feeling hunger pangs, I take a quick break and eat half a Clif bar.
  3. Take the second position. Downhill never works when I’m in front because I don’t bomb down. I’m cautious – unlike you know who. I’ve been over the handlebars one too many times. Perhaps you never saw the “rainbow in my pants” photo…There's a rainbow in my pants.
  4. Enjoy my time. While I’m riding, I remind myself how lucky I am to live where I live, that I’m able to take advantage of afternoons in the woods 10 minutes from home, and that I’m hanging with my best friend.
  5. Last but not least – don’t complain. About anything.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

