Summertime Goals

5 06 2010

Seems like it was only a few months ago when I was posting about summer being off to a raging start. Well, it was, and it flew by. I didn’t get to the beach as much as I wanted, spent too much time on yard work, and made one too many business trips.

Not this year.

I’ve decided to set some (pretty ambitious) goals for this year in an attempt to get back to enjoying my summers to the fullest. Was that sentence oxymoronic? Planning ahead to be carefree. Yeah…so, back to the goals:

  • Spend at least 2 weekends per month at the beach
  • Attend outdoor music events: Reggae Wine Fest 7/17, Naukabout Music Festival 8/7
  • Join PATC and stay in Wineberry Cabin at Shenandoah National Park with Melissa & Bob, July or August
  • Attend the Trail House’s outdoor climbing clinic, July or August
  • Hike every Sunday (that I’m not at the beach) and at least one day during the week
  • Enter at least one 5K race
  • Rent a big house with a group of friends at Deep Creek or similar
  • Mountain bike more
  • Gather the gang again for a cookout and Patio Ping-Pong, July or August

We’ll see how this goes, but my experience has been that if I create a written list of goals, the simple act of writing it down and putting it into the universe makes them materialize.

I run a business and have so much going on each day. So, my true goal outside of work is to live the most unfettered and simple life as possible… Isn’t that what everyone wants?

Happy Summer!

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 11 2010
wayne

hi just wondered did you ever build your climbing wall, im thinking about making one out of utility poles too!

cheers
wayne

4 11 2010
baconbetty

Not yet, Wayne, but I haven’t cut the utility poles down, so there’s hope for next summer! I’d love to see pics if you get yours together.

Leave a Reply

