Beginning, Again

21 02 2009

Original Post: Monday, August 27, 2007

So, I’ve decided to try mountain biking…again. Let me begin this first entry by saying that I do exercise daily at home, practice yoga, hike and snowboard. By no means do I think this sets me up properly to be a great mountain biker, but hopefully it will help me with endurance and balance. Hopefully.

I have attempted mountain biking in the past, but gave up due to frustration. This time, it’s on my terms—not the terms of my quite experienced husband, who thought a great first ride for me would be the 5 hour trip from the Frederick watershed to Catoctin Mountain Park on the blue trail. That was 4 years ago. I still have a scar on my knee and a dent in my helmet.

No, this time I’m starting out slow, because I know myself. I’ll tackle this the same way I tackled snowboarding. After several successful days of not breaking my ass on the bunny slope, I graduated myself to the green trails, and so on. I’ve been boarding now for 5 years.

I believe that being able to laugh at yourself is really important. I’ll definitely be doing that here. So here’s your invitation to laugh at me as well, and see where this ride takes me.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

